My husband and I have been to St. Maarten twice in the past, and are looking forward to our third visit to this stunning island.  You know what they say, “Third time is a charm”!  The reality is that we were charmed by this island from the moment we stepped foot off of the plane.

Over the New Year’s of crossing over to the next millennium in the year 2000, we spent two blissful weeks at a timeshare on Oyster Pond at the Oyster Bay Beach Resort.  It was a timeshare owned by Carwin and Pauline Hartwick.  I worked with Carwin at the Guelph Chiropractic Health Centre; he was a massage therapist.  Carwin was in his 70s, and I will never forget how he and Pauline showed us twenty-somethings how to have a good time!  More importantly, he toured us around this island and shared with us his love for St. Maarten/St. Martin.  We took a catamaran to St. Barts, and sat beside Ron McLean and his family having breakfast at a café.  We went to Orient Beach.  We went to Maho Beach and watched the planes come in just over our heads.  We went to little-known restaurants to enjoy the scrumptious food. We drank Guavaberry spirits. We danced the night away to “Beau Beau” and his catchy song, “Dollar”. It was truly a trip to remember.

The next time that my husband and I went, we stayed at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort.  We enjoyed a relaxing and again – blissful – week soaking up the rays, watching the cruise ships come in and walking to town to enjoy the shopping.  Of course we stopped each day at our favourite Canadian bar in Philipsburg, which I vowed to buy someday!

Our next adventure will be a large family one, to celebrate my 40th birthday.  We will be staying at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, and we will be taking our kids with us, along with my sister and her family, and my husband’s sister and family.  This is truly a ‘bucket-list’ trip, as it has always been my dream to show the island that we love so much to our children and family.

Looking forward to sharing our memories with you all!

